From Europe with Love


Venue: St Nicholas' Collegiate Church

Date: 02 November 2021 at 1:10pm

Price: FREE, booking required

From Europe with Love is on the final leg of its journey. Galway Music Residency’s ambitious monthly lunchtime series exploring string quartet repertoire from all 27 EU member countries has encountered some bumps along the road due to the ongoing pandemic. However, following over 3 years of concerts both Live and online, the series resumes on Tuesday 2nd November at 1:10pm for four final Live performances in St Nicholas’ Collegiate Church.

The first stop on this final leg is Belgium. ConTempo Quartet will perform César Franck’s String Quartet in D major composed in 1890. This was the composer’s only work for string quartet and was his first public success, just months before his death. Franck, a Belgian composer, is often remembered as the father of modern French music, though his chamber music has been sadly neglected. He was also a piano virtuoso and during his lifetime was known as one of the best organists in the world. Discover his charming string quartet with ConTempo Quartet during this lunchtime concert.

From Europe with Love will continue with repertoire from Lithuania, Poland and finally Finland on the first Tuesday of each month (excluding January), concluding in March 2022.

From Europe with Love will take place in line with government regulations and all Covid safety controls will be in place. Covid Vaccine Certificates or proof of immunity must be presented to gain entry to these events. Early arrival is recommended to allow for check-in. 


Galway Music Residency is proudly supported by NUI Galway (Education Partner), the Arts Council, and Galway City and County Councils.

See all events