From Europe with Love: Croatia

A Port of Galway Series

Venue: Online

Date: 06 November 2020 at 1.10pm


From Europe with Love is back with another instalment slightly later than planned on Friday 6 November at 1pm. This month ConTempo Quartet visit Croatia, the home of our sister European Capital of Culture Rijeka, to explore the music of female composer Dora Pejačević. Though a live audience is not possible, the lunchtime concert will be broadcast from the beautiful Oughterard Courthouse and will be available to watch for FREE on Facebook and YouTube.

Galway Music Residency is dedicated to showcasing the music of talented female composers and Dora Pejačević (1885-1923) is no exception. Considered a major Croatian composer, she left behind an impressive catalogue of 106 compositions when she died at just 37 due to complications following childbirth. She was descended from one of the most distinguished noble families in Croatia and was the daughter of a Hungarian-Croatian Count Teodor Pejačević who served as Ban (ruler) of Croatia-Slavonia between 1903 and 1907. Pejačević was given her first piano lessons by her mother, a Hungarian Baroness and talented pianist in her own right, and studied music in Croatia and Germany from an early age. However, she was mostly self-taught and was an accomplished pianist, violinist, composer, actress and patron of the arts. Sadly, much of her work remains unpublished. ConTempo Quartet will perform Pejačević’s String Quartet in C Minor Op 58, a rich and romantic work and the perfect antidote to the Level 5 blues! An introduction to the music will be given by Galway-based Croatian potter Jed Gjerek.

The Port of Galway is the generous title sponsor of From Europe with Love.

See all events