From Europe with Love: Finland

Series Finale

Venue: St Nicholas' Collegiate Church

Date: 05 April 2022 at 1:10pm

Price: FREE

After over three years and 27 concerts, From Europe with Love is coming to a close. Galway Music Residency’s ambitious monthly lunchtime series exploring string quartet repertoire from all 27 EU member countries will see its final performance on Tuesday 5th April at 1:10pm in St Nicholas’ Collegiate Church.

From Europe with Love has welcomed upward of 3200 attendances to the 20 live, in-person, concerts across the series. A further seven concerts migrated online during the pandemic and they enjoyed over 6000 online views. The ambitious series engaged ConTempo Quartet in performing works by 58 European composers, 48 men, and 10 women, with 12 living composers in the mix. Two world premieres, Forever begin… (Fanfare for a New Year) by Galway composer Jane O’Leary, and Epiclisi by Cypriot composer Giorgos Papageorgiou, were among the programme highlights.

The final performance on Tuesday 5th April at 1:10pm will celebrate the music of Finland. ConTempo Quartet will perform Jean Sibelius’ Voces intimae, the composer’s only major work for string quartet from his mature period. About the work, Sibelius said: “It turned out as something wonderful. The kind of thing that brings a smile to your lips at the hour of death. I will say no more.” What better way to bring this series to a close. 

The concert will be introduced by Ulla Hokkanen, Director of Galway Community Circus.


See all events